Planning Board

The Planning Board shall be governed by the terms of North Carolina General Statutes 160A-360 - 160A-387 and by Chapter 40, Article II of the City's Code of Ordinances

Membership & Terms

The Planning Board consists of ten (10) members, seven (7) of whom shall be citizens and residents of the City and the other three (3) shall be citizens and residents of the City's extraterritorial jurisdiction. The seven (7) members of the Planning Board, required to be residents of the city, are appointed by the City Council. The other three (3) members shall be appointed by the board of county commissioners; provided, however, that should such county board fail to make such appointments within 90 days following receipt of a resolution from the city board requesting such appointments, the city council may make such appointments.

The members of the Planning Board serve three-year staggered terms. Should any member no longer reside in the jurisdiction from which appointed, that member is no longer entitled to serve on the Planning Board and must resign. 


Meetings are held on the second Monday of each month at 4:00 p.m. in the Operations Center located at 305 Williams Street, Hendersonville, NC 28792.


The Planning Board may conduct public hearings as may be required to gather information necessary for the drafting, establishment, and maintenance of the comprehensive plan. Before adopting any such plan, it holds at least one public hearing thereon. The Planning Board also conducts such hearings as are necessary for the purpose of considering applications for rezoning, site plan approval, and special use permits.

Information regarding declaration of vested rights may be found City Ordinance and in North Carolina General Statutes 160A-385.1.


Agendas & Minutes 

Submit Public Comment
for planning board


Lew Holloway
Community Development Director
100 N. King St.
Hendersonville, NC 28792
email or (828) 697-3010