Historic Preservation Commission

The historical heritage of the city is one of its most valued and important assets. Conservation of historic properties will stabilize and increase property values in their areas and strengthen the overall economy of the city, county and state. By means of listing, regulation and acquisition of historic properties, the city seeks, within its zoning jurisdiction, to safeguard its heritage by preserving any property therein that embodies important elements of its culture, history, architectural history or prehistory and to promote the use and conservation of such district or landmark for the education, pleasure and enrichment of the residents of the city, county and state as a whole. 

If you are interested in the architecture and history and structures in the City, or to obtain a certificate of appropriateness, you may visit the Historic Preservation website to find out more.  

The Historic Preservation Commission is governed by authority of Chapter 160D-303 of the North Carolina General Statutes. The Powers and Duties of the Historic Preservation Commission are governed by authority of Chapter 160D-941 of the North Carolina General Statutes. 

Membership & Terms

The Commission consists of nine (9) members appointed by the City Council.  In establishing the commission and making appointments to it, the City Council may seek the advice of such state or local historical agencies, societies, or organizations as it may deem appropriate.

All members of the Historic Preservation Commission shall be residents of the territory subject to the zoning jurisdiction of the city, and a majority of the members shall have demonstrated special interest, experience or education in history, architecture, archaeology or related fields.

Members serve three-year staggered terms. 


Meetings are held on the third Wednesday of each month at 5:00 p.m. in the 2nd Floor Meeting Room inside City Hall located at 160 6th Ave. E., Hendersonville, NC 28792. If needed, the Design Review Committee meets the first Wednesday of each month at 5:00 p.m. 





Agendas & Minutes 


Community Development 
100 N. King St.
Hendersonville, NC 28792
email or (828) 697-3010


Cheryl Jones, Chair - Dec. 2024
James Welter, Vice Chair - Dec. 2024
Vacant - Dec. 2026
David McKinley - Dec. 2024
Jim Boyd - Dec. 2026
Jane Branigan - Dec. 2025
Crystal Cauley - Dec. 2025
Ralph Hammond-Green - Dec. 2025
John Falvo - Dec. 2023

Resources & Documents

HPC Rules of Procedure

Code of Ordinances Article III HPC

City Calendar

Meeting Notices