Hendersonville Fire Department Annual Awards

The Hendersonville Fire Department recognized two members during the annual awards ceremony held earlier this month. Senior Firefighter Riley Fore was presented the Firefighter of the Year Award and Lieutenant Dylan Williams was awarded Officer of the Year.  

“These awards are especially important because they are voted on by the men and women who make up our department,” said Hendersonville Fire Chief D. James Miller. “Being recognized by your peers holds special significance. Both individuals make a difference in the community, but they also encourage their brothers and sisters that work alongside them.”  

Senior Firefighter Riley Fore joined the Hendersonville Fire Department in February 2020. Previously she was a firefighter with the Fairview Fire Department. Firefighter Fore also received the Sandy Powell award from the North Carolina Breathing Equipment School, which is their top recognition. She enjoys spending time with her husband and pets, reading, hiking, and traveling. Her favorite thing about the Hendersonville Fire Department is the relationships she builds with coworkers: “The fire department is the family you didn’t know you wanted or needed but you’re grateful to have.” 

Lieutenant Dylan Williams joined the Hendersonville Fire Department in June 2019. His previous experience included being a volunteer Captain at the Junaluska Fire Department. Lieutenant Williams has a passion for training and being outdoors. In addition to many others, he holds the following certifications: Fire Officer 1 and 2, Fire Instructor 1 and 2, Advanced EMT, and technical rescue training in Structural Collapse, Swiftwater, Trench Rescue, Confined Space, and Machinery & Agricultural. When asked why he works for the fire department, he stated, “I remember as a kid going to bed at night feeling safe because there were people who would take care of me – now we are those people.” 

We congratulate Firefighter Fore and Lieutenant Williams on their well-deserved recognition. Their names will be added to the Firefighter and Officer of the Year plaques displayed at Fire Station 2