Environmental Sustainability Board


The City of Hendersonville is committed to preserving our natural resources, reducing our use of energy, and ultimately saving money for our taxpayers. The Environmental Sustainability Board will advise the City Council on policies and practices dealing with the environment and energy conservation and assist with citizen-education efforts.


Please see our "Projects" page for information on what is happening!


The ESB consists of five residents of the City of Hendersonville. Up to four additional members residing outside the City may be appointed for their particular areas of expertise. 

Terms of appointment are two years and members may be reappointed. The board chooses its own chairman annually from among those members who are residents of the City. Members serve staggered terms.

Current Members:

Kim Bailey, Geri Conley, Chairman Ian Edwards, Gary Eblen, Ann Green, Alesia Griesmyer, Gray Jernigan, Kristy Lapidus, Steven A. Orr


The Board meets monthly on the third Thursday at 4:00 p.m. at the Operations Center, 305 Williams St., Hendersonville, NC. All meetings are open to the public unless other specified and are subject to cancellation.


For more information about the Environmental Sustainability Board, please contact Michael Huffman, Staff Liaison, at: mhuffman@hvlnc.gov.